Drum Corps International Marches Into Movie Theaters Nationwide Live on June 22 Only

For the seventh year in a row, DCI kicks off its season with top competitive drum corps performances live on the big screen.
  |   Comments

Press release:  Top ensembles of Marching Music’s Major League will come together for a night of dramatic, passionate and exceptional performances during “Drum Corps at the Cinema: 2017 DCI Tour Premiere.” The event will feature the season-opening debuts of six of Drum Corps International’s (DCI) groups: Blue Stars (La Crosse, WI), Bluecoats (Canton, OH), The Cadets (Allentown, PA), Carolina Crown (Ft. Mill, SC), The Cavaliers (Rosemont, IL) and Crossmen (San Antonio, TX).

Presented by Fathom Events and Drum Corps International, this exclusive live event will show in U.S. cinemas on Thursday, June 22, 2017 at 8:30 p.m. ET/ 7:30 p.m. CT/ 6:30 p.m. MT/ 5:30 p.m. PT/ 4:30 p.m. AK/ 2:30 p.m. HI.

Tickets for “Drum Corps at the Cinema: 2017 DCI Tour Premiere” can be purchased online by visiting www.FathomEvents.com or at participating theater box offices. Fans throughout the U.S. will be able to enjoy the event in nearly 300 select movie theaters through Fathom’s Digital Broadcast Network (DBN). For a complete list of theater locations visit the Fathom Events website (theaters and participants are subject to change).

From modest beginnings four decades ago, Drum Corps International (DCI) has developed into a powerful, nonprofit, global youth activity with far-reaching artistic, educational and organizational influence. Through the annual DCI Tour and DCI World Championships, Drum Corps International provides entertainment to millions through live performances and broadcast events as part of its partnership with Fathom Events. As Marching Music’s Major League, DCI continues a tradition of exceptionally high-quality performance ensembles, with membership in the top corps highly sought-after and extremely competitive.

“Every summer, each of the DCI corps brings original, exciting and mind-blowing performances to the field,” Fathom Events Vice President of Programming Kymberli Frueh said. “Our longstanding partnership with DCI allows cinema audiences to see every vibrant color, dramatic expression and show-stopping formation in vivid detail larger-than-life and on the big screen.”

“The summer of 2017 marks Drum Corps International’s 45th anniversary season, and we’re very excited to share that milestone’s kickoff event with marching music, arts and music lovers live in movie theaters nationwide,” DCI Executive Director and CEO Dan Acheson said.

Follow Us