AMPAS Honors Angelina Jolie, Angela Lansbury, Steve Martin, and Piero Tosi at 2013 Governors Awards

Watch last night's Governors Awards ceremony.
  |   Comments

Last night, the Board of Governors of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences held its 5th Annual Governors Awards at the Dolby Ballroom in Hollywood, CA. “The Governors Awards pay tribute to individuals who’ve made indelible contributions in their respective fields,” said Academy President Cheryl Boone Isaacs. “We couldn’t be more excited for this year’s honorees and look forward to bringing their peers and colleagues together to celebrate their extraordinary achievements.”

Honorary Awards are intended “to honor extraordinary distinction in lifetime achievement, exceptional contributions to the state of motion picture arts and sciences, or for outstanding service to the Academy.” This year's honorees, all past Academy Award-nominees, are actress Angela Lansbury, actor/writer Steve Martin, and costume designer Piero Tosi.

The Jean Hersholt Humanitarian Award, named after actor Jean Hersholt (1886-1956), is presented “to an individual in the motion picture industry whose humanitarian efforts have brought credit to the industry.” This year's honoree is Oscar-winner Angelina Jolie, who has worked with many "global advocacy groups including the Council on Foreign Relations and the Office of the United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees (UNHCR)."

For those unable to attend, the AMPAS has made the following YouTube clips available:

Gena Rowlands honors Angelina Jolie

George Lucas honors Angelina Jolie

Angelina Jolie receives the Jean Hersholt Humanitarian Award

Costume Designers Milena Canonero and Ann Roth honor Piero Tosi

Claudia Cardinale accepts Piero Tosi's Award

Martin Short honors Steve Martin

Bill Taylor honors Steve Martin

Tom Hanks honors Steve Martin

Steve Martin receives Honorary Oscar

Geoffrey Rush honors Angela Lansbury

Emma Thompson honors Angela Lansbury

Robert Osborne honors Angela Lansbury

Angela Lansbury receives an Honorary Oscar

photo credit: Richard Harbaugh / ©A.M.P.A.S.

Follow Us