60th Annual GRAMMY Awards Nominees in Visual Media

The GRAMMYs meet the movies.
  |   Comments

The National Academy of Recording Arts and Sciences of the United States released their nominees for the 2018 Grammy Awards, which recognize outstanding achievement in the music industry.  The eligibility period was October 1, 2016 to September 30, 2017.  The ceremony will be held on Sunday, Jan. 28, 2018, at the Staples Center in Los Angeles and broadcast on the CBS Television Network from 8-11:30 pm ET/5-8:30 pm PT.

Honoring the "best" music in Visual Media are the following categories.  Links go to our coverage of the films.

Best Compilation Soundtrack For Visual Media

(Award to the artist(s) and/or ‘in studio’ producer(s) of a majority of the tracks on the album.  In the absence of both, award to the one or two individuals proactively responsible for the concept and musical direction of the album and for the selection of artists, songs and producers, as applicable. Award also goes to appropriately credited music supervisor(s).)

• Baby Driver
      (Various Artists)

• Guardians Of The Galaxy Vol. 2: Awesome Mix Vol. 2 | Review
      (Various Artists)

• Hidden Figures: The Album | Review
      (Various Artists)

• La La Land
      (Various Artists)

• Moana: The Songs | Review
      (Various Artists)

Best Score Soundtrack For Visual Media 

(Award to Composer(s) for an original score created specifically for, or as a companion to, a current legitimate motion picture, television show or series, video games or other visual media.)

• Arrival | Review
      Jóhann Jóhannsson, composer

• Dunkirk
      Hans Zimmer, composer

• Game Of Thrones: Season 7
      Ramin Djawadi, composer

• Hidden Figures
      Benjamin Wallfisch, Pharrell Williams & Hans Zimmer, composers

• La La Land
      Justin Hurwitz, composer

Best Song Written For Visual Media

(A Songwriter(s) award. For a song (melody & lyrics) written specifically for a motion picture, television, video games or other visual media, and released for the first time during the Eligibility Year. (Artist names appear in parentheses.) Singles or Tracks only.)

• City Of Stars
      Justin Hurwitz, Benj Pasek & Justin Paul, songwriters (Ryan Gosling & Emma Stone)
      Track from: La La Land

• How Far I'll Go
      Lin-Manuel Miranda, songwriter (Auli'i Cravalho)
      Track from: Moana: The Songs

• I Don't Wanna Live Forever (Fifty Shades Darker)
      Jack Antonoff, Sam Dew & Taylor Swift, songwriters (ZAYN & Taylor Swift)
      Track from: Fifty Shades Darker

• Never Give Up
      Sia Furler & Greg Kurstin, songwriters (Sia)
      Track from: Lion

• Stand Up For Something
      Common & Diane Warren, songwriters (Andra Day Featuring Common)
      Track from: Marshall

Follow Us