59th Annual GRAMMY Awards Nominees in Visual Media

How did they do? What would you have nominated?
  |   Comments

The National Academy of Recording Arts and Sciences of the United States released their nominees for the 2017 Grammy Awards, which recognize outstanding achievement in the music industry.  The eligibility period was October 1, 2015 to September 30, 2016.

The ceremony will be held on Sunday, Feb. 12, 2017, at the Staples Center in Los Angeles and broadcast on the CBS Television Network from 8-11:30 pm ET/5-8:30 pm PT.

Honoring the "best" music in Visual Media are the following categories.  Links go to our coverage of the films.

Best Compilation Soundtrack For Visual Media

Amy [Republic Records]

Miles Ahead [Columbia/Legacy]

Straight Outta Compton [Capitol Records/UMe]

Suicide Squad (Collector's Edition) [Atlantic/WaterTower Music]

Vinyl: The Essentials Season 1 [Atlantic/Warner Bros. Records]

Best Score Soundtrack For Visual Media 

Among the composers nominated for Best Score, John Williams has been the most recognized with 22 Grammys and 62 nominations. Thomas Newman has received 11 nominations and won six times, his last for the Skyfall score. Grammy Trustees Award recipient Ennio Morricone, whose The Good, the Bad and the Ugly score was inducted into the Grammy Hall of Fame, has been nominated five times and won twice. Ryuichi Sakamoto has won a Grammy for The Last Emperor. His partner Alva Noto and Kyle Dixon and Michael Stein are first-time Grammy nominees.

Bridge of Spies - Thomas Newman [Hollywood Records]

Quentin Tarantino's The Hateful Eight - Ennio Morricone [Decca]

The Revenant - Alva Noto & Ryuichi Sakamoto [Milan Records]

Star Wars: The Force Awakens - John Williams [Walt Disney Records]

Stranger Things Volume 1 - Kyle Dixon & Michael Stein [Lakeshore Records]

Stranger Things Volume 2 - Kyle Dixon & Michael Stein [Lakeshore Records]

Best Song Written For Visual Media

"Can't Stop The Feeling!" (from Trolls)

Max Martin, Shellback & Justin Timberlake, songwriters (Justin Timberlake, Anna Kendrick, Gwen Stefani, James Corden, Zooey Deschanel, Walt Dohrn, Ron Funches, Caroline Hjelt, Aino Jawo, Christopher Mintz-Plasse & Kunal Nayyar)

[Label: Villa40/RCA Records; Publisher(s): Tennman Tunes admin. by Universal Music-Z Tunes LLC/ MXM Music admin. by Kobalt Songs Music Publishing, Inc./DWA Songs]

"Heathens" (from Suicide Squad)

Tyler Joseph, songwriter (Twenty One Pilots)

[Label: Atlantic/WaterTower Music; Publisher(s): Warner-Tamerlane Publishing Corp./Stryker Joseph Music]

"Just Like Fire" (from Alice Through The Looking Glass)

Oscar Holter, Max Martin, P!nk & Shellback, songwriters (P!nk)

[Label: RCA Records/Walt Disney Records; Publisher(s): EMI Blackwood Music, Inc./P!nk Inside Publishing/MXM Music admin. by Kobalt Songs Music Publishing, Inc./Wolf Cousins/WB Music Corp. o/b/o Warner/Chappell Music Scandinavia/Lionheart Music/Walt Disney Music Company/Wonderland Music Company, Inc.]

"Purple Lamborghini" (from Suicide Squad)

Shamann Cooke, Sonny Moore & William Roberts, songwriters (Skrillex & Rick Ross)

[Label: Atlantic/WaterTower Music; Publisher(s): Copaface admin. by Kobalt Music/EMI Blackwood Music Inc./4 Blunts Lit At Once/Warner-Tamerlane Publishing Corp. o/b/o itself/Rich Forever and Close Range Publishing]

"Try Everything" (from Zootopia)

Mikkel S. Eriksen, Sia Furler & Tor Erik Hermansen, songwriters (Shakira)

[Label: Walt Disney Records; Publisher(s): Walt Disney Music Company]

"The Veil" (from Snowden)

Peter Gabriel, songwriter (Peter Gabriel)

[Label: Real World Records/Peter Gabriel Ltd.; Publisher(s): Real World Music Ltd/Sony ATV]

Follow Us